As told in the last post, the first thing to look at in today’s post will be What is tithi?

Did you ever wonder how come there is a set time for a particular tithi? Say you picked up a Hindu calendar you find Prathama is starting tomorrow at 1:30 pm. Why is it not 2:30 pm or 3:30 pm? Here comes the answer, Tithi is the gap between the Sun and the Moon. The gap is counted as 12 degrees. Whenever the gap between sun and moon is 12 degrees a thithi changes. It goes in the multiples of 12. If it is 12 then it is Prathama. If the gap is 24 degrees then it is 12×2 Dwitiya. If it is 36 degrees then it is 12×3 Tritiya and so on. When it is 180 degrees then it is 12×15 or Pournami.

The 2nd point is, Moon doesn’t revolve in a circular orbit. But it’s elliptical. Sometimes the movement is for a longer time and sometimes it’s shorter. Which establishes a connection why the time changes from one day to another. So, because of the elliptical orbital movement, there is a time difference and that reflects in the timings of the days.

Now the next part is to look at the Nakshatras.

Nakshatras are known as stars and when you observe, the names of nakshatras are female names. All the 27 nakshatras are female names, it is said that the names are after the 27 wives of Moon. Nakshatra is also the movement of the moon by 13 degrees 20 minutes. The moon stays in one Nakshatra for 13 degrees and 20 minutes, totally  27 nakshatras equalling to 360 degrees. Understand that while Moon is moving 12 degrees for tithi change, 13 degrees 20 mins results in Nakshatra Change.

Along with all this, we also need to know the concept of Ayanamsa, which is there only in India. Ayanamsa in simple words is “Ayana” and “Amsa”. We have two Ayanas, uttarayana and Dakshanaya in a year. That should equal to 365.25 days. But it doesn’t happen that way. There is a difference of 50 seconds every year, which is the “Amsa” or remaining part. This remaining part keeps adding up and every year we keep adding 50 seconds and that way we keep moving forward in time.

’50 seconds every year accounts to a change of 1 degree in 72 years.’

So, 1 degree gets added every year and we can notice that in how Sankranthi keeps moving forward by 1 day in every 72 years. Sun moves 1 degree in a day so a festival moves 1 day ahead in every 72 years. In the year 1900 Sankranthi was celebrated on 13th January, then slowly it moved to 14th January and recently in 2015 it moved to 15th January and by the year 2100, we will celebrate Sankranthi on 16th January.

Like that, if we see the calculations, it takes 950 years for the sun to move forward by 1 nakshatra and New year changes one Nakshatra every 950 years. This is what is used for determining the Vedic period. In Rig Veda, there are mentions that New year used to come in Hasta Nakshatra. In 2020 New year comes in Uttara Bhadra Nakshatra. Hasta is 13th Nakshatra and Uttarabhadra is 26th Nakshatra and there are 27 Nakshatras. So, it has moved to 14 Nakshatras. If we multiply by 950 we get 13,300 years which takes us to 11300BC. That is how we can say that Vedas were composed before 11300BC and it is said to be between 14000BC to 10500BC, through various other evidence we have.

The Four Vedas - Origin and Brief Description of 4 Vedas

Through this article, I have tried to establish through ancient astrology, the evidence that Vedas are more than 13000 years old.